Advisory Council

Steering Committee

  • Professor Nigel Biggar
  • Dr Joshua Hordern
  • Dr Dave Leal

Council Members

  • Jonathan Aitken is a former British Member of Parliament and Cabinet Minister. He is a biographer of Richard Nixon and John Newton, a broadcaster, and Chairman of The Prison Reform Policy Group of the Centre for Social Justice.
  • Dr Rufus Black, Master of Ormond College, Melbourne, Australia, holds a D.Phil. in Christian Ethics from Oxford University, is a partner of McKinsey & Co., and is the author of Christian Moral Realism.
  • Professor Andrew Briggs is Professor of Nanomaterials at the University of Oxford, and Director of the Quantum Information Processing Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration. He also holds a degree in theology from the University of Cambridge and is a member of the International Board of Advisors of the John Templeton Foundation.
  • William Chapman, C.V.O. is Director of Policy at the Tony Blair Foundation and former Secretary for Appointments to the Prime Minister of the U.K.
  • Major General (ret’d) Tim Cross, C.B.E. is Visiting Professor at Nottingham University, Adviser to the British House of Commons Defence Committee, and a Trustee of the Bible Society. He was the U.K.’s Deputy to the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq, 2003.
  • Sir Andrew Dilnot, C.B.E., is Principal of St Hugh’s College, Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Oxford, and a former Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies, London. He presents BBC Radio 4’s series on the beauty of numbers, More or Less, and television documentaries about the economy for Channel 4.
  • Claire Foster-Gilbert is Director of the Ethics Academy, Senior Adviser at the St Paul’s Institute for 21st Century Ethics, London, and a former National Policy Adviser in Science, Medicine, Technology and Environmental Issues to the Archbishops’ Council of the Church of England.
  • Lord (Richard) Harries of Pentregarth was Bishop of Oxford from 1987-2006, and is currently Gresham Professor of Divinity and and Honorary Professor of Theology at King’s College, London. He is the author of books on a range of issues, most recently The Re-Enchantment of Morality (SPCK 2008) and, forthcoming, Faith in Politics? Rediscovering the Christian Roots of our Political Values (DLT 2010) and (with Stephen Platten) Reinhold Niebuhr and Contemporary Politics: God and Power (OUP 2010).
  • Donald Hay is an industrial economist, a former Head of the Social Sciences Division at the University of Oxford, and author of Economics Today: A Christian Critique (1989, 2004)
  • Jeremy Hill, Legal Adviser to the Consultative Group on the Past in Northern Ireland, is a former British Ambassador to Bulgaria and to Lithuania, and a former Head of the Southern European Department in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
  • Simon Laver is founder partner of the Perrett-Laver Partnership, a Trustee and Chair of the International and Advocacy Committee of Tearfund, and holds a first class B.A. in Theology from the University of Oxford.
  • Professor Robin Lovin, Cary M. Maguire University Professor of Ethics at the Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas, Director of Research at the Center of Theological Inquiry in Princeton, New Jersey, and a former President of the Society of Christian Ethics and the author of Christian Realism and the New Realities (2008).
  • David Loyn, the BBC’s Developing World Correspondent, won the Royal Television Society’s award for Foreign News and was made the R.T.S. Journalist of the Year in 1998. He is the author of Frontline: The True Story of the British Mavericks Who Changed the Face of War Reporting (2006) and Butcher and Bolt: 200 Years of Foreign Engagement in Afghanistan (2008).
  • Charles Mathewes is the Carolyn M. Barbour Professor of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia. His recent books include A Theology of Public Life and The Republic of Grace.
  • Dr Edwina Moreton, O.B.E., a former Diplomatic Editor and Deputy Foreign Editor at the Economist, chairs the board of VERTIC, an NGO working on treaty verification, and is an associate fellow at Chatham House and an honorary fellow of the Strategy and Security Institute at the University of Exeter.
  • The Revd Dr Edmund Newell is Principal of Cumberland Lodge and an Associate Member of Nuffield College, Oxford, where he was formerly a Research Fellow in Economic History. With John Reynolds he is the author of Ethics in Investment Banking (2011).
  • Elizabeth Oldfield is the Director of Theos, the religion and society think-tank with a broad Christian basis. Before joining Theos in 2011, she worked at the BBC in both television and radio production, most recently on The Moral Maze. She has a master’s degree in Theology from King’s College London and is a trustee of the Church and Media Network.
  • Sir Jonathan Phillips, K.C.B., Ph.D., a former Permanent Secretary in the Northern Ireland Office, is Warden of Keble College, Oxford.
  • The Very Revd Dr Frances Ward is Dean of St Edmundsbury & Ipswich Cathedral and author of Why Rousseau Was Wrong.